This is the last night of “summer,” as in I go back to work tomorrow. I’m calling this “The Summer of Delights and Disasters.” I’m going to list them to possibly write more at another time.

Delight #1 – a week in Maine with friends.

Disaster #1 – my sister fell and has a compression fracture at T-12. Ouch.

Delight #2 – a week on the Outer Banks, NC with some of my children and grandchildren.

Disaster #2 – my other sister had surgery to repair the tears bone spurs inflicted on her Achilles tendon. Ouch.

Delight #3 – a week at the TCRWP Writing Institute with my friend, Sally, and the great thinkers and teachers I encountered there. (Including Stacey Shubitz!)

Disaster #3 – getting sick in NYC and not knowing where to go.

Delight #4 – HAMILTON!

Through these delights and disasters at least one truth rings clear. Most people are good. Most people want to help.

Another truth: Aging is no joke. My sibling relationships have become more important than when we shared a room in a little house. We often switch roles as oldest and youngest, with youngest taking care of oldest. Our birth order no longer matters as we face the challenges of living what is sometimes called, The Third Third.

Another truth: Friends matter.

And finally: The best stories are often about forgiveness. That was one of the many things that struck me after seeing “Hamilton” which will surely become iconic of our time.

Family. Friends. Forgiveness. Not a bad outcome for a summer such as this.

4 thoughts on “August 14, 2018

  1. I love this ideas of delights and disasters! I may have to try it myself as a reflect on my summer. I am so jealous of #4! My daughter is seeing it next week. Have a great school day. Plan a nice treat for tomorrow night!

  2. I love this idea of delights and disasters! I may have to try it myself as a reflect on my summer. I am so jealous of #4! My daughter is seeing it next week. Have a great school day. Plan a nice treat for tomorrow night!

  3. Delights & Disasters. Family. Friends. Forgiveness. Really, what more is there to say? This is a wonderful form of reflection and I really enjoyed reading it. May school today be wonderful. May you have a year of delights & disasters. May you lead your students to an understanding of family, friends and forgiveness. Can’t wait to hear about it all!

Leave a comment