A person very dear to me sits next to me with her laptop. We are both writing, but for very different purposes. I’m writing out of the need to leave some worry on the page. Writing here has been working well for me in that regard during this SOL Challenge. I’m so grateful for the supportive writers and readers in this community.

This person next to me is writing an official complaint of harassment against a coworker who has bullied her for 5 years by belittling her, undermining her professionally, and making her the target of endless jokes about her religion, appearance, and relationships. His behavior has recently escalated to include sexual harassment and physical threats, including scaring her with reckless driving in the parking garage where they work. She has finally had enough. I hope HR supports her complaint.

This is a strong person who sits next to me. She has experienced tremendous loss in the last 10 years. Yet she has shown resilience and done the work to heal and grow. How sad is it that another person is determined to bring more hurt and possibly harm? I can’t even comprehend such hate and rage.

In the Bible it says, “Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.” That is a hard task for even the strongest among us to stand up and stare down such darkness. If anyone can, she can.

7 thoughts on “March 22, 2018

  1. This is awful! I hope your friend gets justice. Nobody should have to put up with that kind of treatment.

  2. I’m so glad your friend is going to take a stand and report this person to HR. It takes a lot of courage to step forward in this situation, and it is much more common than people want to admit. By coming forward, she is helping the next person in this situation, without knowing it. Tiny ripples of truth. Thanks for this slice today. Your friend is not alone.

  3. I’m with you- I ‘can’t comprehend such hate and rage.’ And I especially can’t imagine what it must be like to have that aimed and me and escalating. I wish your friend the best. She is fortunate to have you.
    PS- I am assuming, and I truly hope- that this situation is not at your school.

Leave a comment