So . . . if you’ve come to see if I was able to let go of outcomes today (see 3/20/18 post), I can report that today I felt peaceful. Looking back over the day, I actually did accomplish a few things, minus the usual dose of self-inflicted pressure. With each task I tried to “be okay,” as if that were the only thing to do today.

  • watched the snow
  • worked on a baby blanket (knitting)
  • did the dishes
  • paid the bills
  • washed a load of clothes
  • read a charming little book, I Work at a Public Library, by Gina Sheridan
  • watched an episode of This is Us

I was even able to keep my intention when my sisters both had their dinners planned by 8:36 a.m. when I received text messages from them. (It’s hard to believe we come from the same family sometimes.) Thinking of dinner at 8:36 a.m. is somehow incomprehensible to me.

It’s funny how letting go of the expectation of using this “gift of time” today to check things off the list increased the pleasure I felt in doing and just being.

4 thoughts on “March 21, 2018

  1. Letting go of time pushes me to do things that I’ve put off to the side. I love those empty weekends where the alarms are shut off and dark curtains are pulled. I always wake up and seize the day! Organizing, making phone calls, and even making time for myself. Glad you had a productive day. Here’s to many more!

  2. I’m so glad to hear that you were able to let go – even if your sisters were planning dinner right after breakfast – and I’m even more glad that it brought you pleasure. May it continue to be so.

Leave a comment