This is a writing exercise from the book, Rip the Page! Adventures in Creative Writing by Karen Benke. I came across this book through reading Catherine Flynn’s blog which you can find here. (Thank you, Catherine!) Because I am slightly distracted by family visiting, I thought I would try  the prompt, “What Can You Write With?”

I can write with the softly-spun fibers of spring lamb’s wool.

I can write with the worn, wooden spoons of succulent feasts.

I can write with the footpaths of friends walking through life.

I can write with the breath of babies asleep on my shoulder.

I can write with the block towers of toddlers dreaming.

I can write with the soundwaves of songbirds in deep green forests.

How about you? What can you write with?

 

13 thoughts on “March 17, 2018

  1. This is lovely. Normally I try to choose my favourite lines from posts, but this time I can’t choose. From “softly-spun fibers of spring lamb’s wool” to “worn wooden spoons of succulent feasts” to “the breath of babies asleep on my shoulder” and “the block towers of toddlers dreaming.” It really is beautiful. It’s practically a lullabye. Wow.

  2. I love this idea. I am currently keeping a list of neat posts I see throughout this weekend challenge and creating a list for my own students to use. I just put this idea on the list.

  3. What a beautiful slice! Your words are wonderful…. I especially like “breaths of babies” and “footpaths of friends”. ~JudyK

Leave a comment