Tonight I’m generating a list that I might write from in the future.

Things I love about the Piano:

  • black and white keys
  • tactile pleasure
  • running scales
  • patterns of twos and threes, threes and fours, fives and ones
  • touches
  • legato
  • staccato
  • martellato
  • appoggiatura
  • trill
  • mordent
  • pedals
  • playing octaves from your toes
  • Chopin in the evening
  • Mozart in the morning
  • Hanon
  • sitting under the piano while my mom played
  • shiny ebony finish, so shiny you can see your reflection
  • Bosendorfer
  • arpeggios
  • 1890 Steinway at church with real ivory keys
  • The book, The Piano Shop on the Left Bank:  Discovering a Forgotten Passion in a Paris Atelier
  • form
  • “play with authority”
  • Brahms’ Intermezzo Opus 118, No. 2
  • hand position and apples
  • elbows and balloons
  • movement
  • imagery
  • phrase, melodic arch
  • bass
  • student-teacher
  • teacher-student
  • small fingers riding on my hand

8 thoughts on “September 13, 2016

      1. I appreciate how many teachers practice what they ask students to do. There is so much here to pull from, I’m curious as to what you will choose.

Leave a comment