March 31, 2015

Yesterday, I was feeling very tender and sentimental as you may have read in my post. Today’s experience with Maggie was a little more comical.

I was changing her diaper when I heard a loud squirting sound. The next thing I heard was myself screaming as I realized that projectile poop was all over me and the changing table. It was rolling down the side of the changing table. Whereupon, she began to pee, turning it all into a major soupy mess of yellow “curds and whey.”  It has been many years since I handled such a mess and realized quickly that I was in a bit of panic.

Maggie is still too young to give a full bath, but I whisked her to the kitchen sink and cleaned her up while Mark heroically took care of the rest. I failed to mention that we had guests here to meet Maggie for the first time. That’s an introduction they won’t forget!

On another note, thanks to all who make this month of writing and sharing possible. Thanks to all who took the time to read my writing. Thanks to all who stretched my thinking and my writing skills by modeling new ways of approaching writing a slice of life.

My “slice of life” is currently like a fresh apple, a ripe raspberry, or warm homemade bread. It’s nourishing and awakening my senses to the goodness that is possible. Writing has made me happier.

3 comments on “March 31, 2015

  1. SJR says:

    I just read your lovely, evocative description of your newborn granddaughter (and rousing all my memories of that time with my daughter) in your March 30 slice, after reading today’s comical, messy experience — and they bring together all the contrasting emotions of life with a tiny baby. I envy your being a grandmother, and I know that will give you many many things to write about in the future. Good luck to you and to your daughter and granddaughter.

  2. smcninch says:

    “Writing has made me happier.” I think we can all agree with that. Love all the reminders of how tender, beautiful and messy little ones can be.

Leave a Reply

